Her Name’s Sabrina

January 2017,

She came to my house on one fine Saturday; we had made the appointment before. She’s a rarity. Among many students that need my personal statement to continue their study abroad, she’s the only one that insists on meeting up personally with me, face to face. I told her many times that we just need to email our correspondence since I don’t really have much time for any personal consultation; but she kept on waiting patiently for any spare time that I would have. and that Saturday afternoon she showed up at my doorsteps, looking as cheerful as she was two years ago, when she was just my student of Diploma I Customs of PKN STAN.

Sabrina’s beautiful. She’s a bit skinny, and her eyes stares so pretty yet very sharp, indicating her sharp intelligence and persistence. Jauh-jauh dari Bekasi ke Cipadu cuma mau ngobrolin personal statement dia yang sudah saya koreksi tempo hari lalu, katanya ngga lega kalo cuma email2an. “You have to know who I really am, Ma’am…so that you know if my personal statement really describes me or not,” she told me days before. Iya sekarang saya jadi lebih tahu kalu dia itu super kekeuh girl yang pantang menyerah. Saya menangkap kegelisahan dia yang bekerja sebagai operator bendaharawan di Cikarang, bahwa dia ingin terus bekerja sambil belajar. “I don’t really want to waste my time just for working. I still have the strong desire to learn and learn, in a formal education, Ma’am. Masalahnya jalur kami harus melewati Diploma III khusus dan Diploma IV…. and I have to wait for years just to have that privilege.” Well, I really know how she feels. Rasanya tidak akan ada yang bisa menghalangi seseorang yang sudah punya high passion for learning. Sabrina bilang dia sudah siap jika nanti harus resign jika her application for scholarship keterima. Saya bilang sih sabar saja, karena sayang harus kehilangan karier di Kemenkeu karena study di luar jalur, lagian setahu saya kan bisa kena penalty and bayar ganti rugi jika bekerja kurang dari waktu yang telah ditetapkan Kemenkeu.

Well, setelah sekitar 2,5 jam di rumah, dia pamit pulang. She took a Gojek to Pondok Ranji, she’s gonna take a train to Bekasi. What a brave girl kluyuran sampe maghrib 😀 , ngga kebayang jam berapa nanti sampai Jati Asih. I prayed for her as she’s leaving my house, for her safety and her future as well.

My mind’s still thinking of her now. She reminds me of myself when I was at her age. Seumur dia dulu mencoba banyak aktivitas kampus dan mulai bekerja menghasilkan uang, karena saya punya keinginan kuat beli banyak buku yang saya sukai. Dengan uang honor dari kegiatan senat, jualan makanan dan menerjemahkan saya bisa ke Gramedia dan pasar buku Blauran setiap minggu. Saya dulu sampai ngga berminat buat punya pacar, persis Sabrina yang bilang I have no time for boys. Saya punya prinsip harus lulus kuliah dulu, kerja, lalu get married. Dengan njomblo saya jadi puas pergi bersama teman2, bergantian menginap di rumah mereka, nonton festival musik kapan saja, mbolang and camping ke mana saja, I really have so much freedom that day. (Dan seneng aja inget dulu saya juga heart breaker gara2 banyak cowok yang ngenes saya tolak jadi pacar hahahaa…OOT.) Sabrina kuliah di STAN untuk membantu ekonomi keluarga yang saat itu sedang terpuruk di bisnis property mereka, ambil Diploma I supaya setelah lulus lekas berpenghasilan sendiri. Saya dulu kuliah Sasing Unair agar ortu tak keberatan bayar biaya kuliah, mengingat dua kakak saya juga masih jadi mahasiswa universitas swasta saat itu. Salah saya sendiri saya tidak diterima di fakultas kedokteran Unair dan tentu tidak bisa memaksa ortu buat kuliahin saya di kedokteran swasta, saya memupus cita-cita jadi dokter karena kondisi keuangan keluarga tidak memadai. Somehow, sacrifng your dream will be the best solution, dan Allah menggantinya dengan banyaaak kebaikan dan kemudahan hidup yang saya terima setelah itu. I pray for Sabrina the best that she could get, because she deserves it. Dia tipe pembelajar dan pekerja keras, sayang jika cita-citanya kandas. Semoga ada solusi terbaik buat dia dan jangan sampai lepas PNS nya. Kemenkeu butuh banyak aspiring pegawai seperti dia.

February 2017,

OMG I totally forgot to call her up to inform her that I need her CV asap to complete my edited personal statement for her. Sabrina did tell me about the deadline two weeks ago, but somehow these pile of works really used up my times. I regretted that she didn’t call me again to remind me of it. Actually I was about to write it soon after she left my house, but since I didn’t remember her further details to put on the letter, I just couldn’t finish it. Lousy me…and poor Sabrina. Is she afraid of calling me? I think she’s afraid of looking to pushy to me. Well she shouldn’t because time flies so very fast to me that I just didn’t really realize the deadline was coming. Gosh I feel bad about her. I hope she’s OK now, or I just hope that the other lecturer, Mr. Suryadi, granted her wish.

March 2017,

She finally contacted me again few days ago, informing that she was admitted to those all four universities she had applied before. Cool girl. She decided to choose the University of Westminster in London, so I wrote her my recommendation letter for her full scholarship application. This time, no delay.  Hmmm….life has been very kind to her, I guess. Hope she can have her dreams come true, amen.

Leave a Reply

